MINUTES 2006-2007 ANNUAL MEETING UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN INDIANA BOARD OF TRUSTEES July 6, 2006

The University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees met in annual session on Thursday, July 6, 2006, in Carter Hall in the University Center. Present were Chair G. Patrick Hoehn and Trustees Bruce H. Baker, Mark A. Day, Lauren C. Fultz '07, J. David Huber, Frank F. McDonald II '73, and James L. Will, Sr. Also in attendance were President H. Ray Hoops; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Linda L. M. Bennett; Vice President for Governmental Relations Cynthia S. Brinker; Vice President for Student Affairs Robert W. Parrent; Vice President for Business Affairs and Treasurer Mark Rozewski; Vice President for Advancement Sherrianne M. Standley; Faculty Senate Chair-elect Christy Baker; and Student Government Association President Jeff Clark.

Mr. Hoehn called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

Vice President Standley called the roll and determined that a quorum was present. She read the notice of the annual meeting. On a motion by Mr. Baker, seconded by Mr. Will, the 2005-2006 annual meeting minutes were approved and reading of the minutes was waived.

Mr. Will, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the committee recommends the following slate of officers for the 2006-2007 year and moved the approval of the slate:

Chair	Bruce H. Baker
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Long-Range Planning Committee	James L. Will, Sr.
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Finance/Audit Committee	Frank F. McDonald II '73
Secretary	Lauren C. Fultz '07

Mr. Will noted that the committee has been guided by the statement pertaining to leadership of the Board and continuity and change, first adopted by the Trustees in 1986. He read the statement and requested that it be entered into the minutes of this annual meeting.

"It is the sense of the nominating committee that the leadership of the officers of the Board of Trustees should be balanced between the elements of continuity and change -- continuity to provide a kind of stability in the officership of the Board; change to take advantage of the talents of the several members of the Board."

"To that end, without establishing maximum terms of office for any officer position of the Board, it is recommended that, at each annual election of officers, the Board consciously consider the values both of continuity and change for each officer position and of the development of new leadership among the Board and the University officers."

Mr. Hoehn called for other nominations from the floor. There being none, he declared the nominations closed. On a vote of the Board, the nominating committee slate <u>was approved</u>.

Mr. Hoehn presented the gavel to the new chair, Mr. Baker. Mr. Baker presented Mr. Hoehn with a University chair, a gift in recognition of his service as chair of the Board of Trustees in 2005-2006. Mr. Baker and President Hoops expressed appreciation to Mr. Hoehn for his leadership.

Mr. Baker appointed Mark Rozewski as Treasurer and Sherrianne Standley as Assistant Secretary. He announced that committee membership and other assignments will be made soon.

There being no further business, Mr. Baker declared the annual meeting of the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees adjourned at 11:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lauren C. Fultz

Secretary